ARE WE TO JUDGE?

image

A few months ago,I entered a barbering shop to trim my hair. I decided to go bald that day.These are some of the comments I received; “Charley what’s wrong with you?”,” You look like an old man”,”Are you getting mad?”,”Emma going bald isn’t meant for you’,”Osei this doesn’t fit you”,Get some sideburns and a beard before treating your head this way”and so on……..
    For months I didn’t visit any barbering shop as I watched my hair grow rapidly as expected. I then decided I will try an afro cut the next time I visited a barbering shop which I did before lectures on Friday. These were some of comments received; “Charley Frimps,you kill ,you do all”,” I’m very sure this hair cut is to attract the girls “,” Can you bear this on your head?”.When I got home that evening, I got rebuked by my mum she was like “What would everyone say” but like the other comments,I kept my observations with a smile:).
    I attended a function the following day still with my afro on.And these were what I received; “I’m in love with your haircut”,”You look like those rascals,you’re too gentle for this!”,” Emma this is not for your kind!”Another was that I was very calm and to him I’m a minister of God so the haircut didn’t portray that.With this particular comment,I just wanted to make mention of men of God who kept an afro but I decided to be in an observational mood.
    Upon arriving home that evening, I went to the barbering shop to have my normal haircut for church the following day.At church, I received some complement. I met some few people whom I met at the gathering the previous day.These were what they had to say”You look very different today”,”You spent money for that haircut and you’ve wasted money for this”,”I think I prefer the afro it was cool”,Why have you cut all the hair you got away I’ve been straggling to grow some hair on my bald head”.
     I put myself in the shoes of so many people and  I arrived at a conclusion that in the society we find ourselves, people would always tend to have something to say about what you do,doing orhave done.They will say what they feel like saying to you be it in your own interest or not Not everyone will understand your journey. That’s okay!You’re to live your life not make everyone understand.Do your best not to allow the judgemental words of others cripple you and entangle you from from doing what you desire the most when your conscience doesn’t say otherwise for what someone says about you whether openly or through gossips  doesn’t define you. What defines you is what you believe in.Don’t try impressing else you won’t arrive at the satisfaction you crave for.
   A friend of minehas certain reactions when he cuts his hair too low and his parents has to send medical reports to each school he attends so he could keep an afro.When he spoke to me about his issue and the sort of judgemental looks,comments and discrimination he has faced and is still facing he said something that made a lot of sense “When people throw you stones its because you’re a good tree full of fruits.They see a lot of harvest in you Don’t go down to their level by throwing back the stones,but throw then your fruit so the seed of yourself may inspire then have a different view of the world” He also made mention that you need not go about explaining yourself for every action to those who provoke you,point fingers at you or the coward ones who ignorantly gossip or backbite for the world sees what you do but God sees why and in the end you are answerable to Him!

Read
John7:24
Matthew7:1-2
Roman 2:1

I want to thank those who’ve been encouraging me to go back to writing and create a blog.I appreciate your feedbacks. We’re all learning from one another and as such comments,questions and contributions to this topic would be addressed.

Thanks for reading to educate yourself.

Frimps_Maanuel

©2016

7 thoughts on “ARE WE TO JUDGE?

Leave a Reply

